Zainab is 33 years old and lives with her husband and seven children in the southern Lebanese town of Nabatieh. She fled the Syrian war. Thanks to Solidar Suisse, her family has shelter and a little money for essentials.

“Today I live with my husband and our seven children in lodging that Solidar Suisse offered us. Because of the war, we fled Syria for Lebanon.

Before that we had a good life. My husband married me when I was 16. He worked in a relative’s stall as a construction worker. Today he has to hunt for temporary work and earns around $25 (US) per day.  This has to be enough for the entire family.

Our biggest problem at the moment is our neighbours, who don’t like us and hope that we go back home. And then there is our 15-year-old daughter’s bone disease. She weighs only 30 kg and cannot even carry her school bag. Luckily she now has some medicine that helps.

Before Solidar Suisse helped us with lodging and monthly payments, our situation was hopeless.”

Since October 2012 Solidar Suisse has been supplying Syrian refugees in Lebanon with shelter, winter aid, and basic necessities. Lebanese communities are being supported to maintain and improve their public services.

Share buttons Header Image

Background

Zainab a 33 ans et vit avec son mari et ses sept enfants à Nabatiyeh dans le sud du Liban. Elle a fui à cause de la guerre en Syrie. Grâce à Solidar Suisse, elle bénéficie d’un logement et d’un revenu régulier pour elle et sa famille.

«Je vis aujourd’hui avec mon mari et nos sept enfants dans un logement que Solidar Suisse nous a mis à disposition. A cause de la guerre, nous avons fui de Syrie au Liban.

Nous avions auparavant une bonne vie. J’ai épousé mon mari quand j’avais 16 ans. Il travaillait en Syrie dans la cabane de chantier d’un parent, en tant qu’ouvrier du bâtiment. Aujourd’hui il doit chercher des petits jobs et gagne environ 25 dollar par jour. Ça doit couvrir tous les besoins de la famille.

Notre plus gros problème actuellement, ce sont nos voisins qui ne nous aiment pas et qui souhaitent que nous retournions en Syrie. Et la maladie osseuse de notre fille de 15 ans. Elle ne pèse que 30 kilos et ne peut même plus porter son sac d’école. Maintenant elle a heureusement un médicament qui l’aide.

Avant que Solidar Suisse nous vienne en aide avec le logement et le transfert monétaire mensuel, notre situation était totalement désespérée».

Share buttons Header Image

En images