Aydee participates in Ch’ama Wayna, a Solidar Suisse programme, that helps young Bolivians start their careers. Aydee had a child when she was 17 years old. This is her story.

«I live with my parents, my four-year-old son Santiago and my two brothers in the city of Viacha. I was still in school when I became pregnant. That was a very difficult time for me. I had already planned my career; I wanted to study communication at the university in La Paz and had just passed the entrance exam. I was very happy about the successful test result and it was exactly at that moment that I realized that I was pregnant. However, I told myself that I wanted to continue.

Today I am in the last year of these studies. I love the contact with people. At first I wanted, above all, to write but now I especially enjoy photography and video. At the beginning the university was a huge stress with a baby who wasn’t even one year old. For two years my day started at five o’clock in the morning. In addition to my studies, I wanted to spend enough time with my baby. Luckily, my parents were able to help too.»

«Now I can handle it all: studies, child and work. Thanks to Ch’ama Wayna I had the possibility to do an internship with Radio Letanías in Viacha. In a month they will decide if I can have a permanent post with the radio.

I told my parents: Five years after Santiago was born I will no longer depend on you. To achieve this I obviously need a job. That is my biggest wish. Thanks to Ch’ama Wayna, I have the hope that I will soon have a fixed job.

In addition, I built up a small organization for young mothers. This is because, when you become pregnant as early as I did, life is very complicated, especially the moment when you have to tell your parents. Parents aren’t then always ready to help and I wanted to help with my organization. Future young mothers should be able to share their experiences. In some situations a simple hug can help a lot.»

Share buttons Header Image

Aydee est membre du programme Ch’ama Wayna qui facilite l’entrée des jeunes boliviens sur le marché du travail. Aydee est devenue mère à 17 ans. Voici son histoire.

«Je vis avec mes parents, mon fils de quatre ans Santiago et mes deux frères dans la ville de Viacha. J’étais encore à l’école quand j’étais enceinte. Ça a été un moment très difficile pour moi parce que j'avais déjà prévu ma carrière : je voulais étudier la communication à l’Université de la Paz et j’avais déjà réussi l’examen d’entrée. J’étais très heureuse de cette réussite et c’est juste à ce moment que j’ai réalisé que j’étais enceinte. Mais je me suis dit : je veux continuer.

Je suis aujourd’hui en dernière année d'études. J’aime être en contact avec les gens. Au début je voulais surtout écrire, mais j’ai réalisé entretemps que la photographie et la vidéo me plaisaient particulièrement. L’Université a été au début un immense stress, avec un bébé qui n’avait pas encore un an. Pendant deux ans, ma journée commençait à cinq heures du matin. A côté de mes études, je voulais passer suffisamment de temps avec mon enfant. Par chance, j’ai reçu de l’aide de mes parents».

«J’arrive aujourd’hui à tout concilier : les études, mon enfant et le travail. Grâce à Ch’ama Wayna, j’ai eu la possibilité de faire un stage à la radio Letanías, à Viacha. Dans un mois je saurai si j’obtiens un emploi fixe dans cette radio.

J’ai dit à mes parents : « cinq ans après la naissance de Santiago, je serai indépendante de vous ». Mais pour cela, j’ai naturellement besoin d’un job. C’est actuellement mon plus grand souhait. Grâce à Ch’ama Wayna, j’ai l’espoir de trouver prochainement un emploi fixe.

J’ai mis sur pied une petite organisation avec de jeunes mères. Car quand tu tombes enceinte si jeune, c’est un moment extrêmement compliqué, en particulier quand tu dois le dire à tes parents. Les parents ne sont pas toujours très compréhensifs à ce moment-là.  Et c’est justement là où j’aimerais apporter une aide avec mon organisation : les futures jeunes mères doivent pouvoir échanger leurs expériences. Dans de nombreuses situations, un simple geste de tendresse peut apporter beaucoup».

Share buttons Header Image